Skip to main content

Department of Modern Languages

Departmental News

May 10, 2016

Portrait of Carla Greszler-Gómez

Carla Greszler-Gómez, lecturer in Spanish, has been awarded the 2016 Part-Time Excellence in Teaching Award.

Letter from Liberal Arts Dean Michael Hennessy


April 25, 2016

Dr. Luis Intersimone was elected Executive Director of the Southwest Council of Latin American Studies SCOLAS. He will serve a two-year term beginning in 2016.


April 23, 2016

Department of Modern Languages students Estefanía David (Spanish M.A.), Christi Hudgins (Spanish major), and Karina Ramos (Spanish major) were initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at a ceremony in Evans Auditorium April 23, 2016. Ambassador Carlos González Gutiérrez, Consul General of Mexico in Austin, delivered the keynote address. Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious all-discipline honor society, and admission is based solely on superior scholarship. Only the top 10% of graduate students who have completed one full year of their degree, the top 10% of undergraduate seniors, and the top 7.5% of juniors are invited to be members. Texas State’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi was installed in 2013.

April 22, 2016

On April 22, 2016, University Distinguished Professor Dr. Sharon Ugalde, Dr. Antonio Gragera, Dr. Yasmine Beale-Rivaya, and Dr. David Navarro attended the Second Annual Hispanic Studies Conference hosted by the University of Houston.

Dr. Ugalde gave the plenary address titled: “A New Look for Ophelia in the Cultural Production of Spain.”

Also in attendance were a current graduate student, Alyssa Daley, and former students now pursuing PhDs: Arielle Akines, Isis Campos, Annette Zapata, and Allison Yakel.

April 20, 2016

The Department of Modern Languages congratulates:

Scholarship Recipients

Krystal Kurtz (Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship to Spain)
Debora Ruiz (Harold and Betty Marburger Scholarship)
Katharina Redlin (Elizabeth Topper Nash Scholarship)
Osvaldo Marquez Rubio (Elizabeth Topper Nash Scholarship)
Alec Trussell (Elizabeth Topper Nash Scholarship)
Grace Velasco Van De Hoef (Elizabeth Topper Nash Scholarship)
Ivette Colunga (Roberto Galván/San Marcos Lions Club Scholarship)
Juan Carlos Hernandez (Roberto Galván/San Marcos Lions Club Scholarship)
Laura Peña (Roberto Galván/San Marcos Lions Club Scholarship)
Christina Chandler (Corinda Crews Moeller Scholarship)
Katharina Redlin (Corinda Crews Moeller Scholarship)

Outstanding Undergraduate Student

Kurt Engh

Outstanding Graduate Student

Estefanía David


April 13, 2016

At their annual ceremony on April 13, the University’s Student Organizations Council awarded the Boko Award for Honors Organization of the Year to Texas State’s Spanish Honor Society, Sigma Delta Pi (Epsilon Beta Chapter). Dr. Miriam Echeverría Balboa is Sigma Delta Pi´s faculty advisor.


March 25, 2016

On Friday, March 25, 2016, University Distinguished Professor Dr. Sharon Ugalde, was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award in Women's Studies.

Dr. Sharon Ugalde receiving award, along with Dr. Catherine Jaffe, and Dr. Audwin Anderson
Dr. Catherine Jaffe, Dr. Sharon Ugalde, and Dr. Audwin Anderson
Symposium Poster (PDF, 433 KB)

April 18, 2015

Memorial symposium in honor of Dr. Antonio Candau at Valladolid University in Valladolid, Spain. Dr. Candau was professor of Spanish at Texas State University (1991-2001), and afterwards at Case Western Reserve University until his death from cancer in 2013. The symposium featured the celebrated novelist about whom Dr. Candau wrote his dissertation, José María Merino. During his address, Mr. Merino announced that he will dedicate his new collection of stories to Dr. Candau's memory. There were also talks by Dr. Catherine Jaffe and Dr. Sharon Ugalde from the Department of Modern Languages.  He is remembered fondly in the department as a fine scholar and a treasured friend and colleague.